Middlemarch Museum and it’s submarine
The Strath Taieri Historical Society’s Middlemarch Museum in the old Masonic Lodge is well worth a visit for an insight into the history of the district. There’s a replica of Mitchell’s Store which closed in 1969, Maori artefacts, moa bones, Chinese gold miners’ possessions, photographs, domestic ware, old farm implements, railway carriages, items from both world wars and papers associated with the history of the area. Unique to this museum is the Platypus, an ill-fated iron “submarine” from 1873, designed to assist gold miners in their search for gold on river bottoms, which ended up in pieces on local farms, now partially reassembled outside the Museum.
Submitted by Sharavan O’loughlin